Positive Adoption Language.  That is a phrase that you will hear when you are talking to adoption professionals or to people affected by adoption.  The problem is that no one can agree on what words are positive adoption language and what words are not.  Currently the most debated term is “birthmother”.  Some would rather the term “firstmother” or “natural mother” be used.  Some argue that they should be able to use whatever term they want to use because of freedom of speech.  We are blessed to live in a country with freedom of speech, but that does not absolve us from the fact that words can be powerful weapons.  Words can sting.  Words can empower.  Words can oppress.  I understand why mothers who have placed their children for adoption what to have power over the term that describes them.  The problem is that other members of the adoption plane have to agree on the term that is used.  I struggle with this one because “birthmother” is the term that I like the most.  “Firstmother” bothers me.  How many mothers am I going to have?  “Natural mother” bothers me even more.  It feels icky to me.  I also understand that it makes adoptive mothers feel like they are the “unnatural” mothers.  “Biological mother” just feels cold and clinical to me.  “Birthmother” is the term that I have always used.  I don’t want to offend or hurt anyone.  And just because that is not my intention that does not mean that my words are not hurting someone.  What is one to do?